## Cold Spring Planning & Zoning February 11, 2009

The regular meeting of Cold Spring Planning and Zoning Commission was called to order by Secretary/Treasurer Roger Bay. Pledge to the flag was recited. The roll call showed the following present – Roger Bay, Alan McCullough, Tom Ross, Donna Schmidt, Ken Sharp and Vince Sticklen – excused was Stephen Taylor. Also present was Rita Seger. New member Tom Ross had been issued the Oath of Office prior to the beginning of this meeting.

Roger Bay pointed out the exits from the building, per Fire Department regulations.

The December 10, 2008 regular meeting minutes were reviewed by all. Alan McCullough made a motion for approval and Vince Sticklen seconded motion. All were in favor with the exception of new member Tom Ross who recused himself. Motion carried.

Since the last meeting, an **ID Plat for division of 5.600 acre parcel in the name of the Campbell County Water District, and ID Plat for division of 4.430 acre parcel in the name of the Campbell County Water District,** were both signed by Steve Taylor on December 12, 2008, and an **ID Plat for division of Lot #18, Clearview Estates in the name of Joseph Burkart** was signed by Roger Bay this evening, February 11, 2009. Ken Sharp made a motion to approve these signings and Donna Schmidt seconded the motion. All were in favor. **Motion carried**.

There were no public hearings scheduled.

Roger Bay stated that the nominating committee met to appoint new Planning & Zoning Officers for 2009. With the recent changes made in membership of the Planning & Zoning Commission, the nominating committee decided to re-appoint Steve Taylor as chairman for the Planning & Zoning Commission. Mr. Taylor has served in this position for the years 2007 and 2008. The Planning & Zoning by-laws state that the chairman can only serve for two (2) consecutive one year terms. He cannot be re-appointed until the by-laws are changed.

Vince Sticklen made a motion to appoint Roger Bay as vice-chairman, and Donna Schmidt as secretary/treasurer to the Planning and Zoning Commission. Alan McCullough seconded the motion. Roll call vote showed six yeses and no noes. Motion carried.

Donna Schmidt made a motion that the **duties of the secretary be delegated to the City Clerk**. Alan McCullough seconded this motion. All were in favor. **Motion carried**.

Discussion followed on the time frame allowed in the by-laws for the appointment of the Planning & Zoning chairman. It was agreed that four (4) consecutive one year terms would be appropriate. Roger Bay stated that, because Article XVII – Amendments in the Planning & Zoning by-laws state that any amendments require a fourteen (14) day notice prior to the regularly scheduled Commission meeting, we cannot change the by-laws this evening. They can be amended at the March meeting, and at that time, the chairman of the Planning & Zoning Commission for 2009 will be appointed.

A discussion followed on the new ownership and plans for the former Stables Restaurant. It is possible that the property will be re-zoned but as of this date no applications have been made.

Vince Sticklen motioned that the February 11<sup>th</sup> meeting be adjourned. Alan McCullough seconded the motion. All were in favor. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Rita Seger, City Clerk